Christmas Songs

with the

Ray Brown Trio


1) Away In A Manger (5:49) (traditional, arr. Ray Brown)
2) Santa Claus Is Coming To Town (3:08) (Haven Gillespie, J. Fred Coots)
3) God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen (3:36) (traditional, arr. Ray Brown)
4) It Came Upon A Midnight Clear (3:59) (traditional, arr. Ray Brown)
5) Little Drummer Boy (4:14) (Katherine Davis, Henry Onorati, Harry Simeone)
6) The Christmas Song (4:05) (Robert Wells, Mel Torme)
7) Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer (4:12) (Johnny Marks)
8) Winter Wonderland (3:07) (Richard B. Smith, Felix Bernard)
9) We Wish You A Merry Christmas (2:48) (traditional, arr. Ray Brown)
10) O Tannenbaum (4:59) (traditional, arr. Ray Brown)
11) Jingle Bells (4:13) (traditional, arr. Ray Brown)
12) White Christmas (4:58) (Irving Berlin)
13) The Christmas Rap (2:29) (Ray Brown)

Ray Brown, bass; Geoff Keezer, piano; Gregory Hutchinson, drums;
Russell Malone
(4 & 6), guitar; Ralph Moore (7 & 11), tenor saxophone.

Guest vocalists:
Dee Dee Bridgewater (1); Diana Krall (2); Etta Jones (3);
Kevin Mahogany (6); Nancy King (8); Marlena Shaw (11);
Vanessa Rubin (12); Gregory Hutchinson (13)
Recorded in O'Henry Studios, Studio A, Burbank, California, December 15-17, 1997
and Sony Music Studios, Studio D, New York City, April 27-29, 1998.
Bass - Neumann M149 and Sony C800G;
Vocals - Modified AKG C12VR;
Piano - Neumann KM130 and Sennheiser MKH-20;
Drums - Sennheiser MKH-40, 50; Coles 4038; AKG D112;
Saxophone - Neumann M50b;
Electric Guitar - Sennheiser MKH-50;
Overall - Neumann KU-100
In-studio microphone preamplifiers: Millennia Media HV-3 and Quad;
Avalon M2 and VT737
Consoles: API; Neve 8078 modified
Interconnecting cables: Music Interface Technologies Proline with Balanced Terminators
Monster Cable M1500, M1.5, Series I & III Prolink
Digital recording processors: Telarc/UltraAnalog 128x Tandem 20-bit ADC;
Sony 20-bit DAF Rack; Apogee AD-8000 24 bit ADC
Monitored through Mark Levinson No. 36 20 bit DAC and Krell "Studio" 20-bit DAC
Monitor speakers: Avalon acoustics studio 20; Paradign Active 20
Digital Editor: Sonic Solutions
20- to 16-bit Encoding: Apogee UV-1000 Super CD Encoder
Yamaha C7 provided by Yamaha Concert Services / Hamburg Steinway provided by Pro Piano, New York Piano preparation by Ed Kolakowski.
Dee Dee Bridgewater appears courtesy of Verve / Polygram SA France.
Etta Jones appears courtesy of HighNote Records.
Diana Krall appears courtesy of Impulse! Records.
Kevin Mahogany appears courtesy of Warner Bros. Records, Inc.
Russell Malone appears courtesy of Impulse! Records.
Marlena Shaw appears courtesy of Concord Records.
Cover illustration: Greg Couch.
Cover design: Jim Burt, Burt & Burt Studios.
Art Director: Anilda Carrasquillo.
Recording Producers: Ray Brown, Elaine Martone.
Recording Engineer: Michael Bishop.
Executive Producer: Robert Woods.
Assistant Engineers: Robert Friedrich, Ryan Hewitt, Brett Swain.
Editor: Mark Robertson-Tessi.